Topic: how this works

hello,
I am new to chillispot and freeradius. I am trying to understand how these are working, I took over for someone who left for greener pastures, and did not document that well. I have a chillispot server set for dhcp and then an external freeradius server, with a mysql backend for authentication. When a wireless user connects chillispot automatically hands out and ip address to the user.(right) But since they are unathenticated user they are redirected to hotspoplogin.cgi webpage which asks the for the username and password. This is sent to the external freeradius server to be authenticated to the mysql database, if the user exists in the database, it then sends and access-accept messege to the chillispot server.(is this correct?) Then the user is then allowed onto the internet for allowed time set in the database. So the wireless user is never actually connected to the freeradius server ever then, right? So is chillispot the server that allows the user onto the internet then? Any help would be great!

Thanks in advance,
slack

Re: how this works

Hi dmkhn,s t